SELECTED BOOK REVIEWS

 

Didn't we agree to share? a review of Paulina Chiziane's The First Wife in the London Review of Books, July 13, 2017.

 

A Belgian Artist’s Graphic Memoir Looks at the Sometimes Tortured Course of Love, a review of Dominique Goblet's Pretending is Lying in the New York Times, February 24, 2017.

 

But I invested in you! a review of Adelle Waldman's The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. in the London Review of Books, July 2014.

 

So Frank, a review of Karl Ove Knausgaard's My Struggle, Volume 2 in the London Review of Books, January 2014.

 

I dive under the covers, a review of Kate Zambreno's Heroines in the London Review of Books, June 2013.

 

Second Selves, a review of Adam Phillips's Missing Out in the New York Times, January 18, 2013.

 

The Top Ten Books that Began as Speech, a list in The Guardian, January 2013.

 

I hadn't even seen the Alahambra, a review of Ben Lerner's Leaving the Atocha Station in the London Review of Books, August 2012.

 

Talk for Art's Sake, a review of two books by Lawrence Weschler, Seeing is Forgetting the Name of the Thing One Sees and Twenty-Five Years of Conversations with David Hockney, printed in The Globe and Mail, September 2009.